Sign in to follow this  
Seeker

Fasle reason for arrest

Hi all my question is can i file a claim against the officer in personal or official capacity? And how? I'll warn everyone now I'm no lawyer and I have to read a statue over a few times to get what i hope is the correct meaning. Anyways about 1and half year ago my father was pulled over for speeding, i was passenger, the officer approached passenger side of vehicle, i was not wearing a seat belt officer notices this and asks me for id. I did not  have it with me. He then pulls out a pen and pad asks for my ss#. I tell him i dont feel comfortable giving him that info and offer to give my name. He them makes an ultimatum of 5secs to give said ss# number or jail. Well i went to jail. Failure to identify and no seat belt. me offering name, officer not accepting name and demanding ss# all on video. 

In court at trail officer says it was easier to id with ss#. That D.A.V.D. would pull up all names similar to mine and officer would have to manually select each name to see a pic ascosiated with name. Court ordered state to verify this and there was only me that was listed. Judge dismissed jury then said some things real quick that i didnt understand then ordered me to pay seat belt ticket. Now i know seat belt was my fault yet me going to jail was officers fault from what i understood so im basically seeking compensation for my jail time of one day of which i had to pay 100$ of 500$ bond. Ticket was about 150$.