JArcher

Carpet Depreciation

What's the maximum allowable carpet depreciation in Missouri (e.g. 5-7 years)? I am moving out my apartment and I'm debating whether or not to clean the carpet; the carpet has a dog odor - a dog odor derived by oils \ pet dander and not urine,  defecation, etc. The carpet has no damage beyond what is expected with wear and tear. I have previously paid a non-refundable pet deposit with a monthly pet fee. Am I responsible for scents in carpet derived from dog oils \ dander when moving out? The carpet is currently five years old. 

This is not a "legal" definition but, as a former claims adjuster, I have some experience with depreciation and, as a former landlord, I have some experience with carpet life.

Better quality carpet in a rental should be good for 10 years.

Modest quality (cheap) carpet in a rental should be good for 5 years.

However, carpet has a residual value if it can be cleaned and reused. Maybe 10% to 25% depending on the quality.

1 hour ago, JArcher said:

Am I responsible for scents in carpet derived from dog oils \ dander when moving out?

Yes, it's called "damage."

I'm debating whether or not to clean the carpet; the carpet has a dog odor -

Get a carpet cleaning company with the big machines. An apartment shouldn't cost you more than $100 or so and your receipt and photos is your best defense if the LL withholds a big chunk of your deposit for the carpet.

I have previously paid a non-refundable pet deposit with a monthly pet fee

Which doesn't entitle your pet to destroy the place.

Be smart. Get the pro in to clean the carpet.