Sign in to follow this  
AndrewHenke

Use Batman slapping Robin image on flyer?

Hello. I am a new small business owner. I own a violin shop. I am making a flyer to be handed out at local schools at the start of next school year. I would like to use the "Batman slapping Robin" image as part of the flyer, but my partner Ron said I should make sure I am allowed to use it first.

The attached image is the back of the flyer.

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Ronald Sachs Flyer General Use 2019-2020 (back) 05.jpg

Both the characters Batman and Robin are trademarks of DC Comics and likely also Warner Bros. Studios, which does the DC comics films. In addition to that, if the image you are using is not one you created yourself then you have a copyright problem, too, as the creator of the image (or whomever the creator transferred the rights to) holds a copyright in it. If you use trademarks or material protected by copyright without permission of the holders of those rights for this ad you are infringing on their rights and are inviting could be a very costly lawsuit against you. DC comics and Warner Bros both are very protective of their trademarks and copyrights and should they learn of what you did you can bet you will hear from them. With that in mind, before you use this image I suggest you contact all the trademark and copyright holders involved and secure a license to use the image. My guess is they won't agree to that, but if they do it likely will not be cheap. I think all around it would simply be better for you to omit the Batman and Robin image from the ad. That eliminates any infringement problems and, besides, IMO the image doesn't fit very well with the rest of the ad, which has a very different look and tone to it.

10 hours ago, adjusterjack said:

You could get your butt sued back into the stone age just for posting that flyer on this site.