Sign in to follow this  
TromboneAl

Questions Regarding Blackmail

Hi,

I'm a writer, and my next book will include a subplot concerning blackmail. Here are some questions I have:

1. My initial research tells me that in California, someone cannot be convicted of blackmail (comes under the extortion laws in California) unless the defendant consents to the defendant's demands. That is, if someone tries to blackmail you, but you don't pay up (by transferring either money or other thing of value), it's only attempted extortion. Is that right?

2. Let's say someone goes to an attorney and says he's received a blackmail threat. Might the attorney suggest that working with police, the person make the payment in order to convict the criminal of extortion (higher penalties)?

3. This website talks about a new law regarding sextortion: "The law, which takes effect Jan. 1, 2018, amends existing extortion law under California Penal Code Section 518 to make it a crime to use the threat of releasing private sexually explicit images as blackmail to demand the payment of money, performance of sexual acts or more sexually images." I don't see how that is any different from the existing definition of extortion.

Thanks!

Al

1 hour ago, TromboneAl said:

1. My initial research tells me that in California, someone cannot be convicted of blackmail (comes under the extortion laws in California) unless the defendant consents to the defendant's demands. That is, if someone tries to blackmail you, but you don't pay up (by transferring either money or other thing of value), it's only attempted extortion. Is that right?

1.  Has your research reviewed Penal Code 21a and 66?

PENAL CODE 21a.  

An attempt to commit a crime consists of two elements: a specific intent to commit the crime, and a direct but ineffectual act done toward its commission.

PENAL CODE 664.