I have been with my significant other for 26 years.  We have never married.  We own a home together and have some joint accounts.  About 2 years ago he was left a large stock plan from his grandfather.  We are looking at separating/divorcing (unsure what it really is since we aren't legally married).  The deed to the house is in both our names so we planned to split the profit 50/50 along with splitting all the items inside the house equally and the bank accounts.  What we don't know is if I have any rights to half or any of the stocks.  We don't want to have to involve attorneys and are working together to make this a smooth process.  We both work full time though he makes more than me but I raised our daughter primarily and now our granddaughter so we view each other equally.  I have been working from home for 8 years to have more flexibility to help with our aging parents and granddaughter which hasn't allowed me to make as much money as I could in an office job.  I only note that as I read something about Colorado that a judge tends to give more to the person who makes more money.  

https://coag.gov/resources/frequently-asked-questions/colorado-office-attorney-general-frequently-asked-questions