KarenW

Real estate property

My spouse left the property in September 2014 and I have been solely responsible for all bills - mortgage, taxes, insurance, repairs - since that date. He has continuously ignored my requests to process a divorce. Naturally, he wants to be bought out, but it is now over 4 years later. What value of the property is used to determine equity? Is it the value at the time he left or current value? Also, can I use the cost of repairs, a percentage of the mortgage, taxes, and insurance, and half of our daughter's student loan bills against what equity he would be owed? We owe around $48,000 in parent plus loans for our daughter's college that I have been paying on my own since 6 months after her graduation in December 2014, so from July 2015 to now. 

46 minutes ago, KarenW said:

My spouse left the property in September 2014 and I have been solely responsible for all bills - mortgage, taxes, insurance, repairs - since that date. He has continuously ignored my requests to process a divorce.

Ummm...what exactly is it you think he can/should do that you cannot do yourself?  In other words, it's been 4 1/2 years: why haven't you filed for divorce yourself?

47 minutes ago, KarenW said:

What value of the property is used to determine equity?

Equity = fair market value less the balance due on any mortgages and other encumbrances.

48 minutes ago, KarenW said:

Is it the value at the time he left or current value?

You can determine equity as of either date (although determining fair market value so long in the past will involve at least some guesswork).

48 minutes ago, KarenW said:

can I use the cost of repairs, a percentage of the mortgage, taxes, and insurance, and half of our daughter's student loan bills against what equity he would be owed?