Sasown

Sick/vacation for salaried employees

I am an HR admin in our company and I assist the man that does the HR for the company.  We have several salaried employees but there's one specifically, who will call in sick or take a vacation day (or week), but while out, she'll call the office or answer an email then say she worked so she isn't taking sick or vacation time.  I know that as a salaried employee she would get 40 hours regardless, but our company offers 3 sick days per year but she probably takes 9 per year.  The question I have is, is there a law in place that says it's ok for salaried employees to do this?  I've asked our HR guy and he says it's ok (by the way, he's salaried too).  I'm not sure if he has legal grounds for his answer or if it's an unwritten company policy.

This is mainly a management issue for the company.

If the company believes the employee is abusing her sick leave, or otherwise not working when she claims to be working, then she can be subject to employee discipline or termination of employment.

I have to agree with MiddlePart.  The employee is getting paid full salary each week the government isn't going to care one way or another.  Any issue that could develop would be with owed sick and vacation time.  That could be handled with a memo to the employee that they have exceeded their sick days.

You're letting the tail wag the dog here. The employee should not be telling you, "I answered this email so I will not take sick time" - you should be telling the employee" You called in sick; therefore you  will be taking sick time and you will not be answering any emails, and you WILL BE disciplined if you disobey". Then discipline her if she disobeys.