Sign in to follow this  
Joey81

Artist's Portfolio Value In Divorce

I'm looking for case law or guidelines to help me with an appeal of my divorce ruling.

I am a luthier, and my living has entailed repair/maintenance of instruments. I've never sold any of my hand made instruments, but in the 5 years of my marriage I devoted some time to private study with a world renowned instrument maker, and expanded my portfolio of works for sale as I prepared to move towards self employment. I also acquired some works for sale, which is marked up at 100%. My separation/divorce started shortly after I quit my job and began working part time for myself while also pursuing other employment opportunities. 

In the final divorce ruling the court valued all my instruments at 80% of retail, which is far above my replacement/purchase cost (50% of retail). I am appealing the order pro-se since I'm out of money, and I'd appreciate suggestions for arguments or case law on these issues. 

1. The value of my self-made instruments is 95% labor, very little materials, and have never sold one that I've made. Some are 5 years old by the time of divorce. I testified in court that the private study and making of these instruments was primarily about expanding a portfolio for job seeking, and expanding my skills because we moved to a new state for my wife's job and I had to settle for work that would be damaging to my career if I didn't continue studies and have some examples of modern work. I would assert that these are like an unpublished manuscript who's value is theoretical. It should not be valued at or near retail.

2. Can I compare with value of hand made products for insurance or charitable contributions? I've been told that if my instruments burned in a fire or donated they would be valued at cost of materials, not retail. Isn't there an argument to be made that this is not equitable?