Sign in to follow this  
Carter

Public Education Rights

13 posts in this topic

I am a CT resident. Looking for answers regarding education for my child. My child currently resides in a district and was found not to be a resident of the district (1) at a Residency hearing. I had another residency hearing for the district (2) whom my current district states should be responsible for my child's education. My son was found not to be a resident of that district (2) as well (Makes since for the second hearing because I nor my child live in district number (2). I'm wondering who is responsible for the education of my child if neither district will acknowledge residence? All paperwork was submitted for the district (1) where I live and residency was approved for me but not for my child who resides with me in district (1).

More details, please.

Do you share custody with another parent? Where does that parent live? Does the child live with that parent part time? Is there something else going on?

I can't imagine you having a problem if you and your child live in one place together 100% of the time so there is obviously a lot missing from your post.

I have full custody but the other parent is involved. The child lives with me. Other family members help depending on my work schedule and other parent work schedule.

The issue is, the child is deemed not residing in any of the 2 districts through residency hearings by both districts.  The issue is peculiar, I agree as many have stated but this still remains to be an issue that I need to figure out. 

1 hour ago, Carter said:

My child currently resides in a district and was found not to be a resident of the district (1) at a Residency hearing

Let's get back to that for a moment.

At the hearing somebody in authority said "I find that your child is not a resident of this district because ___________________________________________________________________________________________________."

Fill in the blank.