Sign in to follow this  
awalker

Shouldn't I have been involved in my mother's long term plan of care?

My mother, who is suffering from dementia, was committed to a geriatric psych unit under a court order. I was not informed of this until after the fact. I have been trying to get straight answers on how DHR managed to exclude me in the process to no avail. It had been around 3 1/2 weeks since the last time I visited with her. I received legal papers notifying me of a hearing for legal guardianship of her. I called her caregiver and asked what was going on. I was told then that she was in the mental ward at a local hospital and DHR had taken over her case. I was furious that I had not been notified of anything that had happened in the 2 weeks prior. I called DHR to inform them that I would be seeking guardianship of her and would bring her home to live with me, as I live alone, have an extra bedroom and work from home as an accountant. I have 6 years experience as a medical assistant and also cared for my special needs son until his death at the age of 15. I also cared for an elderly lady with dementia and had a letter from the son explaining what a wonderful caregiver I was for her. I had spent much time researching care for people with dementia and had incorporated the methods I learned from said research. I wasn't informed by the case worker that allegations of abandonment had been presented in their report. Rather, they let me show up to Probate court, not knowing the allegations and without legal representation, and while I listened to the lawyers for DHR tell the judge their plan to admit her to the worst LTC facility in the county, I ran over my rebuttal in my head. When the judge asked if there was anything the children would like to say, I opened by asking why I was not included in this plan, why was it that they already had this in action, and why was I not allowed the code to visit my mother in the hospital. I had been begging EVERYONE to let me see her