MediocreGolfer

questions about "Navy SEAL" usage in a humorous novel

I am a self-published author, and I have written a humorous parody novel about Navy SEALs. (And I plan to put a disclaimer on the copyright page of my novel that I am not a Navy SEAL, former Navy SEAL or associated with the Navy in any way.) My novel is titled NAVY SEAL RESCUE. I put the cover, which is clearly humorous, into a writers' forum asking for feedback on the cover's artistic merits, and a couple of people said I couldn't use "NAVY SEAL" in the title, and this one person said I couldn't even have Navy SEAL characters in the book without obtaining authorization and/or a license from the US Department of Navy. Other people said I had a first amendment to publish "NAVY SEAL" on the cover and within the book without contacting the US Department of Navy to obtain authorization/license. The post that troubles me (from a fellow self-published writer, who identified herself as not being an attorney) is as follows:

Trademarks are not copyrights.  There are no fair use clauses in trademark laws.  A trademark cannot be used, without authorization of the mark owner, for satire, educational purposes, parody, or anything else.  And a cease and desist letter is not required before a mark owner can drag a violator into court.

Although not surprised by the number of excuses on why using a trademark without permission is OK, it is disappointing to see, here, writers who depend on the honesty and integrity of others to protect their intellectual property to spend so much time making excuses for breaking the law.  The old question, "How would you feel if someone was stealing your stuff for profit?" may be appropriate to ask, too.