hammerandnailsdept

Sm Claims against MoviePass.com

MoviePass.com gives you access to see one theater movie every day for $10/month or $7/mo paid annually. 

I subscribed and my wife and I were going about twice a week average until there was a problem, where a ticket agent mistakenly tried to put 2 tickets on my account.

Moviepass cancelled my account and I've been negotiating with their cs people for two months, now finally, they are telling me that they have reviewed and are sticking by their cancellation.  Does not matter the fault, I'm banned. 

I believe they are fraudulently offering the service and look for frivolous reasons to cancel high volume users like us. 

I'm thinking I might get their attention, possibly on a national level with a simple sm claims suit. Although I could not seek relief in the form of reinstating my account, I could cite damages 10 mo x 30 days x $14...$4,200 with the goal of embarrassing them into treating me an other users fairly.  I realize there could be problems with the venue, but I've used their service and they provide service in Orange County, so seems like if just getting their attention is the goal, might be worth the hassle.

thoughts? 

I doubt any judge would accept your method of calculating damages.  You would probably be limited to the amount you paid for the subscription.  Small claims cases are not recorded and it is highly unlikely anyone would ever know of your suit.

2 hours ago, hammerandnailsdept said:

I believe they are fraudulently offering the service and look for frivolous reasons to cancel high volume users like us.

Do you have any evidence to support this "belief" or is this just rank speculation?

I'm thinking I might get their attention, possibly on a national level with a simple sm claims suit.