Sign in to follow this  
rockyboy33

Driver exercise due care

I was pulled over for a clocked 86 in a 70 on interstate 75 three lane.  I wasn't going that fast. The cops didnt like to communicate when they pulled me over and won't tell me what details are.  It says citation and summons.  The cop said I just had to pay a fine but that's not what the ticket says.  It's a 10 hour drive from my home in Florida. When calling the number it states it could take 20 days for information. Seems a little Agressive for a speeding ticket. The cop made is sound like it was a lesser ticket but after trying to figure out how to pay it's sounding ridiculous.  40-6-241 state law. Cooks county. Does anyone know the fines details and if I need to plan for a trip up to Georgia?  I'm a full time student work full time and my moms been in the hospital for a month icu. (Which is why I was in the situation in the first place) 

1 hour ago, rockyboy33 said:

The cop said I just had to pay a fine but that's not what the ticket says.

Not real helpful telling us what the ticket does not say without telling us what is actually does say.

When calling the number it states it could take 20 days for information.

That's hardly unusual.

Seems a little Agressive for a speeding ticket.

Huh?

The cop made is sound like it was a lesser ticket

Lesser than what?  It would be hard to imagine anything "lesser" than a speeding or distracted driving ticket.

40-6-241 state law.

That's not a speeding law; it's a distracted driving law.  Section 40-6-241 of the Georgia Code states as follows: