Permanent69

Mandatory Timeliness for Appeals

I am a Canadian resident who submitted a complaint against a corporation in California for Misappropriation of Trade Secret.

My case was dismissed by the Judge and I appealed within 60 days, but the mandatory appeal timeline was 30 days.I am a Pro Se

litigant wondering if there is any possible way to be forgiven for the delay of submitting my appeal? Any information would help.

Thank you

I assume you filed with the limited civil division of the superior court (otherwise the deadline would have been 60 days).

Rather than ask about abstract possibilities, why not tell us what your reason for missing the deadline was?  I'm guessing you're going to say that it was a result of confusion between the rules applicable to appeals from cases in unlimited civil and those in limited civil.  If so, that's not going to suffice.

7 hours ago, pg1067 said:

I assume you filed with the limited civil division of the superior court (otherwise the deadline would have been 60 days).

Rather than ask about abstract possibilities, why not tell us what your reason for missing the deadline was?  I'm guessing you're going to say that it was a result of confusion between the rules applicable to appeals from cases in unlimited civil and those in limited civil.  If so, that's not going to suffice.

7 hours ago, pg1067 said:

Because I received a letter from the court of appeal that my appeal lacks jurisdiction since it was not filed within 30 days. Therefore this appeal is dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.

Edited by Permanent69
Omitted information now included in edit

5 hours ago, Permanent69 said:

Because I received a letter from the court of appeal that my appeal lacks jurisdiction since it was not filed within 30 days. Therefore this appeal is dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.

Did the letter cite a statute or rule of court?

Yes here is what the letter says