Sign in to follow this  
jj_mia

College withholding transcripts due to phone bill debt

Hello - I graduated from college in 2004 from a private institution.  My college is withholding my transcripts because there is a phone service bill overdue on my account.  Since this debt is not related to academic fees, what possibility do I have to get this waived/removed?  I've asked the school to provide me with back up documentation for the debt, and they haven't replied to my email.  

Any help/guidance is much appreciated.

Thanks!

10 hours ago, jj_mia said:

Since this debt is not related to academic fees, what possibility do I have to get this waived/removed?

Probably zero, but it obviously depends on the terms of the agreement(s) you made with the college and the state where it is located.  How much is the bill?

Hi @jj_mia

Welcome to the community and thanks for posting! That sounds like a really frustrating situation. It does not sound unreasonable that you expect to be provided with documentation of the outstanding balance. You may also want to ask to see the written policy which authorizes the school to withhold transcripts when there is an outstanding balance of any kind (academic or otherwise).

Whether or not you want to fight this will probably depend on the amount of the unpaid balance. Certainly continuing the fight will take up more of your time, and you may also want to consider conferring with an education attorney. As other posters have stated, if the amount of the balance owed is less than the retainer for an attorney, you may want to consider paying simply to be done with the process.

Best of luck and keep us posted!

The FindLaw.com Team

This is not unusual at all. Typically diplomas are withheld for unpaid balances as well. Getting details from 12 years ago is going to be tough. You might want to pull your credit report as by now, it is likely that the charge was turned over to a collection agency.