bornitz

non-compete question

Hi,

I'm a W2 contractor working for company ABC, who assigned me to support company XYZ on XYZ's account called JKL.

Before starting in April 2012, I signed a non-compete clause with the following wording:

1. NON-PERFORMANCE OF SERVICES AND NON-RECRUITMENT. During the term of this Agreement and for 18 months after the end of the employment relationship (whether Employer or Employee initiated the termination), Employee agrees that he/she shall not in any individual or representative capacity (e.g. as a principal, employer, stockholder, partner, agent, consultant, independent contractor, or employee): (a) directly or indirectly provide, solicit or advise another of the opportunity to provide, any services to a client where Employee previously provided services to the client on behalf of Employer or was otherwise introduced through Employer; or directly or indirectly, retain or solicit for Employee or for another party, the services of any of the Employer’s employees or others introduced through Employer. For purposes of this paragraph, “introduced through Employer” means where a client, employee, contractor, other individual came to the attention of Employee in any manner through Employer. "Client" includes any affiliates, customers or clients of the Client.

I expect to be terminated soon due to offshoring of the work. Others on our team have already been let go.

Before working for ABC company as a W2 contractor, I was a full time exempt employee of XYZ company for 6 years before being laid off due to offshoring.

Am I still required to wait 18 months before trying to find another contract position (let's say for a different contracting agency) supporting XYZ or does the fact that I previously worked for XYZ nullify this non-compete clause since they (ABC) did not initially introduce me to company XYZ?

Thanks in advance,

Bonnie