junio12

Hair Salon Appointment Deposit

Is it legal for a hair salon to charge new customers a 50% "deposit" of the service they are scheduling in order to make an appointment? 

I live in Washington state. I have tried to figure out the answer to this question on my own by checking RCW 18.16 and 19.86, but I'm not a lawyer, and haven't seen anything that seems particularly applicable. I do know that it's not legal for auto mechanics in this state to charge deposits for work  they haven't performed.

You've looked in the right statutes. I took a look, too.

If there is nothing in either of those statutes (and I can't imagine were else it would be) prohibiting the practice then it's legal.

The reason for the practice is simple. If the hairdresser works by appointment and blocks out an hour or two for you and you don't show up there isn't likely to be any way of replacing you at the last minute.

I'll bet the deposit is non-refundable if you don't show up and says so on the wall or on the receipt.

Obviously you know about the practice in advance so you can either agree to it or take your business elsewhere.

So nothing illegal is happening.

I definitely understand the rationale behind the charge. Obviously they are just trying to prevent missed appointments, and I'm guessing this is more common with new clients since there is nothing at stake for them missing the appointment. 

However, intent and rationale doesn't actually matter when it comes to consumer law. They could be doing something totally illegal with the best of intentions and still be in violation of the law.

Charging over the phone for a service you have not yet performed does actually seem a little shady to me, from a consumer point of view--especially when you are only doing it to new clients who have never seen your facilities and have to take it on good faith that you can actually perform the services you are advertising.