Sign in to follow this  
CURTGAILES

TAKING OUT BREAKS

I AM A MANAGER AT A RETAIL STORE, MY QUESTION IS IF I DON'T TAKE A BREAK, MEANING DON'T CLOCK OUT DON'T LEAVE THE STORE AND CONTINUE TO WORK THE WHOLE TIME I AM SCHEDULED CAN MY EMPLOYER AUTOMATICALLY TAKE OUT 30 MIN TO AN HOUR....EVEN WHEN I AM THE ONLY MANAGER SCHEDULED THAT DAY?

In future, please don't post in all caps.

Managers are in general typically exempt workers, but then again titles don't mean anything. You can discuss exactly what you do for a living with the state labor dept. to see whether you are in fact a non-exempt worker. If you are non-exempt, then you must be paid for all time worked. If you are exempt and are paid hourly (with hourly vs. salary being just a pay method), it's still not clear what you mean by "take out 30 min to an hour". If you're truly exempt, all the employer has to do is make sure you make at least $23,600 a year or $455 a week (though your state or locality may require a higher yearly/weekly compensation for an exempt worker).

This happened to me several years ago. I was an Assistant Manager at a seasonal business. We were very busy at times and i wasn't able to take a lunch or my complete time allowed very frequently. My manager would deduct the time from my time card whether I took one or not. There was another employee who would leave for 2 hours at a time and she would never deduct it from his check. Sounds like discrimination,right? Well in the state of WI it is perfectly legal to treat employees "in a unique way". That is what the Dept of Workforce Development told me. The only thing I could have done had I known at the time was if I didn't take a lunch and told them, then they couldn't deduct the time. They said that since you are scheduled to take an hour lunch then the company can deduct it whether you clock out or not.

Contact your state labor board and see what they say...

"My manager would deduct the time from my time card whether I took one or not."