Sign in to follow this  
cj2003

Judgement - how to fight

Hi,

I am an Ohio resident and have a judgement that has been filed against me. The judgement was filed in 2006. ***** Collection is the company that has sued me and is trying to collect. This all originated from a ***** credit card.

How can I fight this and have it taken off of my credit report? I did not sign for the certified piece of mail that was sent to my residence informing me of the law suit. Is this something I can use against them? Also, how long does this stay on your credit report? My credit reports say December 2013, but I've heard many different time frames from several different people. If and when it does expire on December 2013, can they renew the judgement and put it back on my credit again?

Any help is appreciated.

CJ

[This post has been

edited to remove personal or identifying information. -Moderator]

cj2003 said...

How can I fight this and have it taken off of my credit report?

If a judgment was entered six years ago, it's probably way too late to do anything about it now.

cj2003 said...

I did not sign for the certified piece of mail that was sent to my residence informing me of the law suit.

This is one of the dangers of not signing for certified mail. If you're saying that you were aware of the mailing and intentionally didn't sign for it, no, that's not something you can use to your advantage.

cj2003 said...

how long does this stay on your credit report?

Judgments can stay on your credit report for as long as they're enforceable, which could be forever if the creditor renews the judgment after the initial enforcement period.

I did not purposely dodge the certified letter. It was signed by a friend at my residence when I was not present.

So, the judgement can be renewed? And how long can this stay on my credit report in Ohio? I have looked over the laws and this is what they say:

A

judgment issued by the Courts in Ohio is enforceable for a period of