Sign in to follow this  
JohnNichols

student/USC married - process help

Hello.

I am a current international student who is about to start my 2nd semester of studies in California. I just got married to the love of my life, who is a US Citizen, in December, 2009. Me and my wife want to start the immigration paperwork [for Green Card & then Citizenship], change of status and work authorization right away, including anything else related. Could anyone point us to the right direction please?

1 : Which papers/applications do we individually or collectively file?

2 : Would my student visa continue to be valid after I send in my papers in question 1 above?

3 : Would I still need to go to the school to maintain my student visa/status after I/we apply the forms/applications from question # 1 above? Or can I stop going to school?

4 : Any tips on what to include with our applications or how to prepare for the process?

Thank you! :)

John

You'd be petitioning for a family-based visa, Adjustment of Status (F-1 to Immigrant visa) - get a conditional permanent residency (and a work authorization along with that); and after 3 years of marriage, if you meet the other citizenship requirements you can apply for naturalization. More info here.

Your student visa will be valid even after you apply. You would need to continue going to school to maintain your student status in the US - at least until you get the conditional PR status, which may take 4-6 months (an optimistic estimate).

The USCIS site above has links to all the paperwork and instructions on how to fill them out. Some of the forms required are (Note: This is not an exhaustive list)

I-130 Petition for an Alien relative,

I-485 Adjustment of status to Permanent Resident,

I-765 Employment Authorization,

I-864 Affidavit of Support

I-693 Report of Medical Examination and Vaccination Record