Debt Claim Suit

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Poppie1234

Poppie1234

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 January 2014 - 03:50 PM

Being sued by a collection agency that has acquired the "account" from a creditor. The said account was apart of an identity theft and supposedly resolved two years ago with the original debtor, until recently.

What are my recourses ?

#2 adjusterjack

adjusterjack

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,839 posts

Posted 11 January 2014 - 04:58 PM

You raise a defense in court and bring documentary evidence that you don't owe the money.

Warning: Legal issues are complicated. Explanations and comments here are simplified and might not fully explain the ramifications of your particular issue. I am not a lawyer. I do not give legal advice. I make comments based on my knowledge and experience. I guarantee nothing. If you act on my comments without the advice of an attorney, you do so at your own risk.

#3 pg1067

pg1067

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46,069 posts

Posted 13 January 2014 - 08:09 AM

Not really sure what you mean by "recourses."  If your defense is that you don't owe the money because the amounts sought are the result of identity theft, then you raise that defense as appropriate in responding to the plaintiff's complaint.  Did you really not know that?  If that doesn't answer your question, I suggest you clarify.

#4 deacon_law_1969

deacon_law_1969

Contributor

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts

Posted 15 January 2014 - 06:22 AM

What do you mean 'resolved two years ago'? was there a judgment vacated and was the case dismissed? was there a police investigation? do you have documentation to the effect proving ID theft?