Disabled College Student Threatened by Staff

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Supermoto

Supermoto

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 12:38 PM

Hello. I am a disabled college student in Orange County, California. A staff member threatened and intimidated me (not physically, but it’s still a threat). My civil rights, student rights, and disabled rights have been violated. I am afraid to speak to the administrators due to retaliation by the staff member. I have contacted the District, but I have not heard back from them. Can you please tell me what type of case I have? Also, how do I search for a pro bono or contingency attorney? I am a disabled student and I do not have any income. I appreciate any information your share. Thank you very much.

#2 pg1067

pg1067

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 45,207 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 02:07 PM

A staff member threatened and intimidated me (not physically, but it’s still a threat).

It may be "still a threat," but not all threats are the same. What exactly did this person do? And is this a private or public college (your reference to a "district" suggests the latter, but I don't want to assume)?

My civil rights, student rights, and disabled rights have been violated.

Maybe; maybe not. I'm not going to assume -- without factual information -- that your conclusion in this regard is correct.

Can you please tell me what type of case I have?

I'm not really sure what you mean by this (or why it might matter), but it obviously depends on the relevant facts. What I can tell you is that, generally speaking, the making of a threat does not give rise to any sort of civil lawsuit.

Also, how do I search for a pro bono or contingency attorney?