privacy

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 lgyork82

lgyork82

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 February 2013 - 05:39 AM

Hi, i'm a Maine resident and a medical marijuana patient. my employer recently found out about my status and is now demanding I bring copies of my certificate and any other narcotics i'm prescribed. Can they do this?

#2 pg1067

pg1067

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46,260 posts

Posted 15 February 2013 - 07:25 AM

Can they do this?

Not sure who "they" are. It also seems that your employer is doing the things mentioned in your post, so it seems rather obvious that your employer can do those things.

If your intent was to ask whether it is legal for your employer to demand to see your medical marijuana certificate, I suspect the answer is yes. As you probably know, a great many employers test for illegal drug use and terminate employees who test positive. I'm going to guess your employer does this and, perhaps, that you tested positive and sought to justify your positive test by reference to your medical marijuana status (apparently, your employer became aware of your status, so it's hardly a privacy issue at this point to ask you to prove your status). It's hardly unreasonable for your employer to want verification and not simply take your word for it.

If the facts are different than what I surmised above, please clarify because different facts could produce a different response.

#3 Guest_FindLaw_Amir_*

Guest_FindLaw_Amir_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 February 2013 - 09:24 AM

To learn more about this subject matter, you may visit the Employment Law Center and read Workplace Privacy as a good resource.

#4 lgyork82

lgyork82

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 February 2013 - 10:21 AM