Cannot find creditor to pay judgement

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 trim_one

trim_one

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 09:47 AM

I am in the state of Ga. I am a professional builder, however, I prefer not to tackle an entire roof tear-off and re-roof on my own, as I am a woman.
Several years ago, I hired a roofing company to re-roof a rental property my company owns, and my husband signed the contract. This roofer was supposedly a licensed contractor, (general contractor on contract) and fully insured. Neither of these were true. The work was shoddy, and after paying one half of the total price up front, I refused to pay the remainder, asking him to fix the roof correctly, after he provided me with proper insurance papers, a GC license number and more. I did not want him back on my roof for fear of him or one of his employees possibly getting hurt and suing. Many things were and still are wrong with the installation.
He hired a lawyer, took me to court for non payment, and, of course, won in court because he and his lawyer were good at lies and omission, while I have no experience with the law. I DO know correct building procedures and what a new roof should be.

Now, three years later, I find that the judgement that has been put on my husband's name must be satisfied in order to refinance our primary residence. I have tried to find this roofer, who is out of business (big surprise) through his lawyer, who turned the judgement over to him, the white pages, and the tax records for this and several surrounding counties. The phone number is no longer his, and his attorney says he no longer has a contact number for him either.

My question is this- How do I go about getting this judgement paid if I cannot find the person I owe? Or better still, how do I get it off of me? This is a civil action that took place in a magistrate's court. I have tried to find this answer online for three days with no luck.

Thank you in advance....