moving out of state

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jdutton10

jdutton10

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 08:27 AM

Hello. I live in NY, have custody of my son, and my ex has supervised visitations once a week for 2 hours at a facility. Being a nursing student, I hope to move when I am offered a job after graduation, hopefully somewhere warmer down south. I am not sure if I am able to do that with this arrangement, or how go about being able to do so. Could someone let me know what my options are, and if there's any hope for me to do this? Thank you!!! p.s. yes, I am the father.

#2 Ted_from_Texas

Ted_from_Texas

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,979 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 08:56 AM

To relocate your child to another state you'll need to obtain consent from either your ex or the court. Whether either is feasible or even possible is impossible to say from the facts in your brief message. A local family law attorney can explain how New York laws apply to your particular circumstances, and the best way to proceed.

#3 LegalwriterOne

LegalwriterOne

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,602 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 08:56 AM

Obviously unless you plan on transporting the child for the supervised visits weekly from wherever you want to relocate to, you will need petition the court to change the visitation schedule. Be prepared to be ordered to pay for transportation for the child's visits....Consult counsel.

#4 Guest_FindLaw_Amir_*

Guest_FindLaw_Amir_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 February 2013 - 10:30 AM

To learn more about this subject matter, you may visit the Family Law Center and read Interstate Custody Arrangements as a good resource. I also suggest you consult with a local New York Family Law Lawyer for clarification on your specific situation.

#5 pg1067

pg1067

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 45,389 posts