Photo

can I get my deposit back and will my credit be o.k?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 justinharper

justinharper

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:04 PM

I moved into a one bedroom apartment 5 months ago. I never signed a lease because the manager said he will e-mail it to me but he never did. I thought I was commiting to 6 months but he emailed me the lease last night and it states that I am commited to a year. I am a college student getting ready to transfer and I cannot afford to stay at this apartment complex any longer. I am not going to sign the lease and I am leaving after 6 months is completed. Will I be able to get my deposit back? will this damage my credit? the landlord already refused to let me "abandon my lease". any advice would be appreciated. thanks.

#2 adjusterjack

adjusterjack

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,719 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:12 PM

Your landlord is full of baloney.

You don't have a lease because you didn't sign one. You won't have a lease if you don't sign the one he just sent you.

You don't even have a 6 month committment.

You are on month to month.

However, in most states you need to give one month's written notice to the LL if you plan on moving out.

For example if you want to move out by January 31 you would have had to give written notice on or before December 31 or you would be charged for February's rent.

If you intend to move by February 28 you would need to give written notice on or before January 28.

If you give proper notice the landlord typically has 30 days to return your deposit after you move out. He can adjust it for damages that you leave behind and he can apply it to rent if you mess up the notice requirement.

Above is general information. If you post your state I'll give you a link to your landlord tenant statutes where you can look up your state's requirements.