Photo

Placed on admin leave pending "investigation".

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 AZsweet

AZsweet

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 January 2013 - 08:03 AM

I have worked for an extremely large organization for 9 years now. I went out on my first "real" vacation and was gone for 11 days. Upon my return, I was advised that I was under investigation and when questioned, was advised that they couldnt tell me that. A few days later (one my day off) I was called by my boss and the Director of the business and advised that I was being placed on an administrative leave until such a time that the investigation was complete. When again asked why, the Director told me he didn't know...which, as a manager, I know to be untrue as I have seen many of these things over the years.
Prior to leaving on vacation, I had an employee that filed an age discrimination lawsuit. I hired the woman so I KNOW that I havent discriminated but out of training, this lady had quite a few issues and I began the process to terminate. Prior to terminating, the trainer mentioned that the emplyee had mentioned that she may have alzhiemers. Doing the right thing, I contacted HR and was advised to have the employee go to the doctor and provide accomodation forms....which I did with my boss. The agent then went on the file the complaint, for in my opinion, she was trying to keep her job. So very long story short, I have interviewed, reinterviewed and interviewed again by HR regarding this complaint.
I believe this witch hunt is a direct reflection of the age discrimination filing (though I did NOT do anything wrong) to satisfy the wish of the person filing the complaint. I am just collateral damage.

Do I need an attorney? I truly believe they are in process of termination and recognize their modis operandi.

#2 Tax_Counsel

Tax_Counsel

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,846 posts

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:57 AM