Living Trust

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 optician11

optician11

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 January 2013 - 07:23 PM

Does the beneficiary of a living trust pay estate taxes for real estate received

#2 adjusterjack

adjusterjack

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,949 posts

Posted 15 January 2013 - 08:35 PM

Does the beneficiary of a living trust pay estate taxes for real estate received

No.

But I suggest you consult a trust attorney and a CPA to make sure you understand how trusts and estate taxes work.

Warning: Legal issues are complicated. Explanations and comments here are simplified and might not fully explain the ramifications of your particular issue. I am not a lawyer. I do not give legal advice. I make comments based on my knowledge and experience. I guarantee nothing. If you act on my comments without the advice of an attorney, you do so at your own risk.

#3 pg1067

pg1067

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 44,395 posts

Posted 16 January 2013 - 08:21 AM

Estate taxes? No. Only the estate would pay estate taxes (if applicable, and I believe federal estate taxes only kick in when the estate is valued in excess of $1 million or $2 million -- whether there is an estate tax at the state level varies from state to state).

However, the beneficiary of a trust (which is a different thing from an estate and may exist completely independently from an estate) who has received assets from the trust might be liable for other types of taxes. It depends on the particular facts.