Disability Discrimination/Wrongful Termination

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jasmon88

jasmon88

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 January 2013 - 06:47 PM

I was recently terminated from my job 3 days after telling my director that I was having a surgical procedure to remove a lump located in my breast. The letter of termination states I was terminated because I was a health risk to the job. I've been working at my job for approximately 16 months. I was never written up and I attended work everyday. I have never been late to work or reprimanded for any wrong doings. Was I wrongfully terminated? Was I discriminated due to having a breast lump or having surgery? Do I have a case?

#2 Tax_Counsel

Tax_Counsel

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,859 posts

Posted 15 January 2013 - 12:09 AM

It certainly sounds like you were discriminated against because of your medical condition. Whether that medical condition is a disability as defined in the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), I cannot say on the facts given, but it could be. Keep the termination letter, that will be a huge asset to you in rebutting your employer's claim that the termination was for something else if the employer decides to change its tune should you sue. The ADA will apply if your employer had at least 15 employees. The first step is to file a complaint with the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). Some states have laws prohibiting discrimination based on disability, too, and they often apply to smaller employers than the federal law does. In some states, filing a complaint with the state will count as filing with the EEOC, too. You must file your complaint on time or you'll lose your opportunity to sue later. You may have as little as 180 days after the termination to file the complaint. For more information, see the EEOC page on filing a charge.