• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 dpatch

dpatch

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:42 AM

I was working with a snowblower.
The shout got cloged and I attemped to uncloug it.
I did not turn off the motor off.
My middle finger was amputated and my index finger was shreaded. We are trying to save it.
I am almost 61 years old. It was my right hand and I am right handed.
I have been a house painter all my life and am unable to work. Rehab will take a long time, if we can save the index finger.
I have filed a claim to my mom's home owners ins.
What should I expect from ins? medical? lost wages? lost finger?
Should I go to SS for disability

dpatch

#2 adjusterjack

adjusterjack

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,762 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:59 AM

I was working with a snowblower.
The shout got cloged and I attemped to uncloug it.
I did not turn off the motor off.
My middle finger was amputated and my index finger was shreaded. We are trying to save it.
I am almost 61 years old. It was my right hand and I am right handed.
I have been a house painter all my life and am unable to work. Rehab will take a long time, if we can save the index finger.
I have filed a claim to my mom's home owners ins.

Very little.

The accident was caused by your own negligence, not your mother's. So the Liability coverage won't pay anything.

Most homeowners policies have Medical Payments coverage, usually in increments of $1000, $5000 or $10000. So you could be entitled to reimbursement of your medical costs up to whatever the Medical Payments coverage limit is.

I say "could be" because the kicker is whether or not you are a "regular resident" of the household. If you are, you would be excluded from the Medical Payments coverage.

Yes.

No guarantee as to when or if you get it, but I certainly suggest you apply ASAP.