sublets

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 admd79

admd79

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 12:51 PM

I live in seattle. a couple months ago a friend wanted to leave their apartment, but had a couple months left on his lease. I offered to move in. I've been paying rent via personal check for the last 4 months. The landlord hasn't said anything and has cashed my checks. Based on what other tenants have said to me, who have lived in the complex for several years, they've never had to sign to renew their leases. My friend's year lease has already passed, and the landlord hasn't contacted him or left any notes in the mailbox or my door. I have good credit, but don't have the extra money to pay first, last and a security deposit. My friend also didn't leave the apartment in the best shape.
Can the landord kick me out of the apartment? for all intensive purposes i've been a good tenant (paid my rent on time, kept the apartment and surrounding areas clean, I'm not loud).

If I ask to have my name added to the lease or the lease changed to my name can the manager ask me for first, last and a security deposit?

I've tried to read the landlord/tenant acts and there isn't anything specific to subletting

#2 Guest_FindLaw_Amir_*

Guest_FindLaw_Amir_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 December 2012 - 01:22 PM

Would be in the discretion of the landlord. You may wish to visit the Real Estate Law Center and read Landlord-Tenant Law as a good resource to learn more about this subject matter.

#3 Fallen

Fallen

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 59,923 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 01:36 PM

"Can the landord kick me out of the apartment?"

Not precisely clear what you mean by "kick [you] out" but the landlord would be free to treat you as a monthly tenant. In WA, they'd only need to give you a 20-day termination notice if you don't have a long-term lease.

That's "intents and purposes" vs. intensive purposes by the way.