• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 LawNow_1

LawNow_1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:07 AM

I work for a small credit union.. I am a mortgage loan officer and have been with the company for 11 years.. Prior to 2012 I was presented with a written 2012 Compensation plan which included a base salary of 80K $ and a bonus of 1% for all mortgage loans produced "over" $10 Million...

I have produced a little over $20 Million in loan volume this year and my bonus under the compensation agreement would be approx. $100K. I was called in for a meeting last week regarding the bonus that was due me.

I was informed that management had for whatever reason "not" been accruing my bonus and that the company could not pay out a $100K bonus... but they would consider paying me a $60K bonus... I was told that if I were paid the full bonus that I would be making more than the president of the company. I told them that I had worked extremely hard to earn my bonus and for then “not” to pay me the full bonus was a clear violation of our written agreement and a possible violation of wage and hour laws. I also informed my supervisor that no where in the agreement did it state that I could not make more money than the president of the company.

I was informed that if I did not want to be a team player and accept the $60K bonus that was proposed then things may get "ugly"...I told them I “did not” want things to get ugly and that I had done everything that had been asked of me and that I had make the company a lot of money but I was not willing to accept a bonus less than what our agreement called for.

About 1 week later I was called in for another meeting. My supervisor said that he had my compensation plan for 2013 and he wanted to review the plan with me. I ask him if a decision had been make about my bonus for 2012 and he stated the full bonus of $100K would be paid as was stated in the 2012 comp agreement.