firing

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 wildcats12

wildcats12

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 November 2012 - 02:59 AM

Im a manager at a fast food place in ky. An employee asked if i could tell him his hours for the week. So i look and tell him. He then advised me he had like 2 hours of overtime. I then go look at the payroll report and see someone had changed his time. He got upset and requested a copy of the report. I gave it to him so he could ask the district manager about it. So are they allowed to fire me for giving him the information even if it had no other employees personal information on it?

#2 pg1067

pg1067

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46,255 posts

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:06 AM

Unfortunately, a lot of folks mistakenly believe that employers need objectively good reasons to fire employees.

Unless an employee (1) has a contract of employment with the employer that limits the employer's ability to fire the employee or (2) is a member of a labor union that has a collective bargaining agreement with the employer, the employer may legally fire the employee for virtually any reason other than discrimination based on race, ethnicity, gender, etc. (there are similar limitations applicable to some governmental employees).

#3 Tax_Counsel

Tax_Counsel

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,756 posts

Posted 21 November 2012 - 11:30 AM

So are they allowed to fire me for giving him the information even if it had no other employees personal information on it?

In short, yes. When the employer is not a government agency, then the employer may legally fire you for any reason (or no reason at all) except for a few reasons prohibited by law. The prohibited reasons include firing you because:[list]