Disclosure of disability

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 fearful

fearful

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 November 2012 - 08:24 AM

I am a critical care nurse and I have been employed in the same ICU unit for the last 21 years. During that time I have lost a considerable amount of hearing. I am now totally deaf in 1 ear and have about 50% loss in the other. I wear a hearing aide but there are still some limitations with the localization of sound, phone use and communication with other staff members when the environment is noisy. My co-workers are aware of this and understanding and when new people are hired I do have to tell them on a one to one basis that they need to speak directly to me and that I will not be able to hear them from a distance. I have in the past had to deal with some discrimination when my deficit was an inconvenience to a new co-worker so I fear this discrimination and ridicule in a new environment. I function without any difficulty in my unit because my familiarity with the sounds of my unit's monitors and equipment help me locate and identify the sources and I know which phone has the loudest volume control. I function independently and safely. I am now told that I will randomly have to take turns floating to a different hospital, with entirely different staff and equipment, when they need some help if someone is on vacation or sick or they are short handed. We were invited to an "Open House" to look around and familiarize ourselves with the unit. No formal orientation or introductions.