Is this right? What can I do?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OkcJay

OkcJay

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 02:32 PM

I work as a bartender, one of my bosses at my job said he seen myself and a co-worker drinking alcohol during our shift. I was not drinking but from my side this is what happened.. I was bartending with my usual co-bartender on a not very busy night. I was watching people and had my eye on a man walking up to the bar I grabbed my cup (which had a straw)of cranberry and redbull,I took a drink. While I was still with drink in hand, one of my bosses opened the back door and said the phrase "ya'll are some stupid asses" i was very confused at this point until my other boss brought both of us out to the hall and there we were told that he seen us take a shot of alcohol and throw the cup away, although he has no proof of this and I was not aware of what my co-worker was doing at said time (even though I personally don't think he was taking a shot of alcohol), my co-worker began to state that he wasn’t and we have a mess up behind the bar of alcohol but it is still sitting there, I stood dumbfounded and quite honestly livid. No0t only did this man call me a name in front of guest but also is accusing me of drink at a job I have had for some time now without any problems. I wrote up a statement that I was not initially aware would go to human resources but afterwards found out it was so they could decide. I was suspended and sent home, and on my way home I received messages from a different co-worker who is also employed there that he has heard what happened, that my boss was telling people about it, he knew before I said anything. My question is this; is this defamation of character? Is him calling me a "stupid ass" in front of a customer Harassment? I mean this man has said awful things to me before as well as many other employees know that he is very rude and I am not the only one he has talked to like this.