Attorney, Arbitration or Mediation?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 law4me2_1153

law4me2_1153

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 12:53 PM

As allowable by self-directed IRAs, I invested IRA funds into a promissory note and security agreement. The Debtor has defaulted according to the provisions of the note. I am a novice at this, so please advise:

1.) To be in compliance with California contract law what is the process and next steps I should follow next?

2.) What are the advantages of using an attorney versus Arbitration versus mediation?

3.) Because I am in a low income bracket, what are my chances of an attorney working with me on a contingency basis, or work with me on other forms of payment?

#2 Tax_Counsel

Tax_Counsel

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,688 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 08:55 PM

1.) To be in compliance with California contract law what is the process and next steps I should follow next?

That depends in part on the terms of the note and security agreement. What property is secured? What did you do to secure it? How much is owed and what were the terms of the note? The details matter, and we don't have those here.

2.) What are the advantages of using an attorney versus Arbitration versus mediation?

The question doesn't make sense because you use an attorney to advise and represent you in legal matters. You can have an attorney represent you in court litigation, arbitration, and mediation. Litigation, arbitration, and mediation are simply 3 different ways to resolve a dispute.