ignition interlock devices & OR law

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 rianal

rianal

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 06:23 PM

if installed and maintained by an oregon DMV approved subcontractor, is it possible to purchase - rather than lease - an ignition interlock device?

thank you

#2 adjusterjack

adjusterjack

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,847 posts

Posted 24 October 2012 - 03:24 AM

if installed and maintained by an oregon DMV approved subcontractor, is it possible to purchase - rather than lease - an ignition interlock device?

thank you

Can't imagine that you can't buy instead of lease.

Should be easy enough to call a couple of suppliers and ask.

Warning: Legal issues are complicated. Explanations and comments here are simplified and might not fully explain the ramifications of your particular issue. I am not a lawyer. I do not give legal advice. I make comments based on my knowledge and experience. I guarantee nothing. If you act on my comments without the advice of an attorney, you do so at your own risk.

#3 rianal

rianal

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 October 2012 - 12:11 PM

well, yes, or so one would think. before posting, i'd called or web-visited every IID outlet i could find, and, counter-intuitively perhaps, have found none willing to sell - lease only.
it occurs to me that the technology is no more sophisticated than the average phone; specialty courts across the country are requiring IID's at a rapid pace - making rarity, or economic scale a non issue, and the outcome of a DUI (since 1/1/12) is so disastrous, i'd like to use it into the future.

i just don't want to pay for it several times over in the first year of use.

#4 rianal

rianal

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 October 2012 - 12:22 PM

also, the IID is the one and only item 've ever encountered that is not available on ebay, which strongly