driving without license

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 RAFAT1990

RAFAT1990

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:33 PM

Hello everyone , I am foreign student in ohio . unfortunately, I just pulled over yesterday and I got two tickets

Can you tell me please , what is the penalty for driving without license and in ohio?
and also what is the penalty for driving a car reversed direction in one way in ohio?

it is my first time ....

I have to go to court and I am afraid that maybe I wll go to jail .

#2 Tax_Counsel

Tax_Counsel

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,868 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 08:19 PM

It appears that the failure to show the officer a valid license is an unclassified misdemeanor in Ohio, as is the offense of letting someone drive a vehicle who is not licensed. The statute specifically states that no jail time may be imposed for these offenses. The penalty for going the wrong way on a one way street is a fine, not jail. I think for the first offense here, you aren't looking at jail, but are looking at some significant fines.

#3 FindLaw_Amir

FindLaw_Amir

Platinum Contributor

• Moderators
  • 62,345 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:07 AM

You may want to read the Ohio Laws and Rules: 4510.12 Operating a motor vehicle without a valid license and the Ohio Revised Code Offense & Conviction Code List as a good resource.
FindLaw's Legal Heads-Up! newsletter can provide you with the legal resources you need to make informed decisions when law touches aspects of your everyday life.

#4 BOR_BOR

BOR_BOR

Bronze Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 07:27 AM