liability in the event of dog trainer being bitten by a dog

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 victimised

victimised

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 12:06 PM

I am a dog trainer. I took a dog to train for general obedience and only when I had put it in my car did the owners admit that it had previously bitten a stranger in the street. I was making good progress with the dog but nine days into the training it bit me. I requested that the owner pay for the medical expenses solely and also enquired if they had insurance. I have not received a response to my letter. The incident took place in Suffolk County, NY. I have trainer's insurance but it proved not to cover personal injury only third party liability. There was no discussion with the owner regarding insurance or liability in the event of a bite prior to the incident. Is the owner liable for my medical espenses?

#2 pg1067

pg1067

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 45,651 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 02:41 PM

I took a dog to train for general obedience and only when I had put it in my car did the owners admit that it had previously bitten a stranger in the street.

At which point you could have asked the owners to remove the dog and driven away. By not doing so, you confronted a known risk.

I was making good progress with the dog but nine days into the training it bit me. I requested that the owner pay for the medical expenses solely and also enquired if they had insurance. I have not received a response to my letter.

Was the dog in your custody exclusively during this training? In other words, when you picked up the dog, did it remain in your custody until after the biting incident, or did you return the dog to the owners each day and pick it up again the next day?