Car Accident and what I can pursue

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Meghan298729

Meghan298729

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 July 2012 - 11:02 AM

I am a teacher in South Carolina. I was in an accident in August 2010, when a pick up truck exited out of a hotel parking lot into oncoming traffic and struck my 9-day old vehicle. The woman was found to be at fault, and my vehicle was totaled in the accident. I since was able to settle ON MY OWN (I did hire a lawyer) for my vehicle and had it paid off by insurance and took a $350 loss on a car that I had not even made the first payment on. This was my first day on a new job, so I was resistant to miss work for fear that I would lose my job. I was taken from the scene of the accident by ambulance and missed the first day of school. When I spoke with my lawyer, they said they dealt with personal injury, so could not advise on pursuing payment for the lost vehicle. \r\n\r\nThe day of the accident, I was X-Rayed for injuries. I was wearing a seat belt and had bad bruising on my right hip, pain in both wrists from the airbag deploying, bruising and scrapes on my hands, a seat belt burn and bruising on my left upper chest, had hit and scraped my left knee on the dashboard, and had upper neck and back pain following the accident. I was found to have no broken bones, and was treated for whiplash and soft tissue injuries. After the accident, I continued to have pain in my neck/upper back, both wrists, and my knee. I underwent traction and PT for my neck, and still continue to get stiff neck pain that goes down into my upper back. My wrists were treated for a short time at PT, but the therapists stopped treatment because the exercises were painful to perform. I also had PT treatment to my left knee. I was eventually referred to an occupational therapist for my wrists, and MRI scans showed no tears. I underwent treatment to have the nerve in both wrists removed to treat the pain I was still feeling over a yea