short term disability.

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 ADVICESEEKER1

ADVICESEEKER1

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 April 2012 - 11:30 AM

I am a resident of New York and I am on short term disability have already exhaused FMLA 12 weeks. I received a letter stating that short term disability ends on 6/26/2012, if I do not return to work I will be terminated. Also I am to apply for long term disability and will find out if qualified one week before this date. I am still disabled taking medication and in treatment. I had a microfracture surgery and a lateral menisectomy and lateral release on my right knee rehabilitation takes a long period of time aproximately 6 to 12 months it was performed on 1/27/2012 and I have been approved by my doctor to be out until 4/30/2012. On that date he will reevaluate me and see if i can return to work.  I received a call today stating that the ATT disability advisory group had a conference call with my doctor and AT&T doctor feels I can return to work next week with restrictions sitting only, I will be placed on sedatary duty. I have not confirmed this with my doctor and I am concerned because to date I do not have full range of motion in my knee, still in therapy and cannot go up or down a flight of stairs and still in lots of pain. I am a Assistant Manager for  AT&T my main function requires me to stand for long periods of time on the sales floor. My question I know I have exhausted my FMLA which means I can be fired and my job does not have to be held. If I do not return due to my disability can I be fired?   Do I have any recourse under the american disabilities act they are allowing me to return on sedatary duty but I am not ready to return I cannot sit  or stand for long periods of time. Please advise if there is anything I can do thank you for your help.

#2 Fallen

Fallen

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 60,119 posts

Posted 23 April 2012 - 03:08 AM