Custody with drug addict

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 tciamconfused

tciamconfused

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 November 2011 - 04:22 PM

I live in Washington State. I am a current student to be a Paralegal. I have a 2 year old boy and I just recently stopped seeing my baby's father we are not married however, he is a drug addict with his current girlfriend and he tells people I don't allow him to see his son which is not true. I didn't let him see his son once and that was it he doesn't come around or call at all and he is always in town from what I have been hearing. I would like to know if I would be able to get full custody of my son so I don't have to be scared to be in town with him and my baby's dad find us and take him and not bring him back. I have a bad feeling that if I let my son go with his father that I would never see my son again there's alot of talk and speculation of things about my baby's dad. I do not trust him or his girlfriend being a former drug user with my baby's dad I know he operates on the drug. I am unaware of my baby's dad residence. Please help me. Is there a way I can get custody of my son?

#2 Ted_from_Texas

Ted_from_Texas

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,036 posts

Posted 13 November 2011 - 12:50 AM

I presume that by "full custody" you mean sole custody.  If you are studying to be a paralegal, you need to learn and use the correct terminology.

When a child is born out of wedlock, the mother is presumed to have sole legal and physical custody until there's a court order that says otherwise.  Has the father proven up his paternity in court and otained a formal, enforceable custody and support order ("parenting plan") that specifies his and your respective rights and obligations?  His name on the birth certificate is not by itself sufficient to give him any enforceable parental rights.  Until he does, you get to call all the shots regarding visitation.