Uniform Transfers to Minors Act

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 felcrespo

felcrespo

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:11 AM

I will try to pose my question as simple as I can.

I created a revocable trust (single person) in California in 1993.  I now live in Washington State.

I wish to make an amendment to the trust, and to a section pertaining to distribution of estate assets (if any) after I die.  At the end of that section, it refers to any distribution if made to a person "under the age of 25 under the California Uniform Transfers to Minors Act."

Since I now live in the State of Washington, should the word "California" be changed to the word "Washington."? 

I used to be a CA estate planning paralegal for 25 years, and to my knowledge, amendments can be done without soliciting the help of an attorney.

In all those years however, I don't think I was ever posed with this particular scenario so I would not know the answer.

Thank you.

#2 Tax_Counsel

Tax_Counsel

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,689 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:18 AM

felcrespo said...

I used to be a CA estate planning paralegal for 25 years, and to my knowledge, amendments can be done without soliciting the help of an attorney.

You can amend your own legal documents without an attorney if you know what to do. If you don't know what to do, then that's when you need to see a lawyer for help. As you likely know, if you are not a lawyer you cannot amend or draft legal documents for others.

felcrespo said...

Since I now live in the State of Washington, should the word "California" be changed to the word "Washington."?