child rights

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 brandiroseizaak

brandiroseizaak

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 December 2010 - 04:45 AM

I have two kids with a guy that i have never married. He has not been a proper father nor has he ever been financially responsible for either child. He has a drug addiction problem that i tried to help him fight for years. I finally decided to call it quits because my kids are getting older and I dont want him hindering their life. He is willing to sign his over to me because he knows that he cannot handle responsibility of any kind. I am a student and single mother of two. I cannot afford a lawyer. I do all that I can to take care of my kids and get myself through school. What would be the best route for me to take in gaining complete rights to my children? Or just assuring that the "sperm donor" has no rights and can't interfere with our happy home? Also i would like their last names to be changed to mine.

#2 Ted_from_Texas

Ted_from_Texas

Platinum Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,018 posts

Posted 09 December 2010 - 05:17 AM

Your so-called "sperm donor" has certain potential parental rights simply because he is the children's father, and except under highly unusual circumstances those rights cannot be unilaterally or voluntarily terminated except in the case of a valid adoption process.  Whether he wishes to pursue his rights or not is his call to make.  All he has to do is establish his legal paternity (if he hasn't already) and obtain a formal custody and support order ("parenting plan") that specifies his right of reasonable visitation and his obligation to pay child support.  He may have other custodial rights as well.  By choosing to have children with him, you have effectively made him part of your and your kids' lives for the next 18 years.