Dual citizenship

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Holland1951

Holland1951

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 April 2012 - 04:21 AM

Hi! I am a permanent resident of Florida (married to an American citizen) and would like to become a citizen myself, but as I am from the UK I don't want to give up my citizenship there. Can I get dual citizenship? and how do I go about it.

Also as a citizen of the U.S.A. could I sponsor any of my adult children to move here, and roughly how long would it take.

Thank you.

#2 RetCopPrlgl

RetCopPrlgl

Silver Contributor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 539 posts

Posted 06 April 2012 - 06:01 AM

You can find information about dual citizenship HERE as it pertains to the U.S.

While the U.S. Government does recognize dual citizenship, it is not encouraged because of the problems it can cause for the person possessing dual citizenship.

Although there should be no problem if you want to be a U.S. citizen, it would be up to the Government of Holland as to whether you'd remain a citizen there. 

For example, if a foreign country grants automatic citizenship to a U.S. citizen (through whatever means there are available), the person remains a U.S. citizen and enjoys dual citizenship.   If a U.S. citizen were to apply for citizenship in another country, it could jeopardize the U.S. citizenship status.  (This generally applies only if the U.S. citizen "denounces" his citizenship, but not always.)

Currently, (as of October 2011) the Dutch government is considering a change to the dual citizenship laws when a Dutch citizen marries a U.S. citizen (or citizen of another country outside the Kingdom of the Netherlands).  If the law passes (not sure if it has yet), it will eliminate dual citizenship for Dutch Nationals who marry a foreign citizen and apply for citizenship in their spouse's country.

Excerpt from the Dutch law as of 2003:

You will not lose your Dutch nationality:
  1. if you were born